Posted by: jeannineatkins | July 1, 2007

Another day, another blog

Yesterday my daughter and I went to see Evening. It was low on plot, great on scenery (ocean) and fun to see Meryl Streep emerge late in the film as the older self of one played by her real life daughter. Vanessa Redgrave and her daughter were also good, and Glenn Close. My daughter mentioned the vacuousness of the guy who was supposed to ignite all this angst and ardor, but what I most took away was her saying how she liked the bad boy the best of all. It’s a reminder to me who likes to make my characters behave in exemplary ways. I’m going to try to keep in mind as I write my novel to let my girl step over more lines. Not to be the mom, the cop, saying, uh, no, be careful.

Leave a Reply

Categories

