Posted by: jeannineatkins | December 7, 2013

Zadie Smith on “Why I Write”

Yesterday I joined others in the packed Student Union Ballroom at UMass to hear Zadie Smith, whose novels include WHITE TEETH, ON BEAUTY, and most recently NW, give the Troy lecture, which was titled “Why I Write.” She spent quite a bit of time on the historical context of that question, which she says can plague her students in the writing program at NYU, some of whom feel so much has been said already. She assures them that the question goes back before the Internet surrounded us with words at the touch of our fingertips. She made the eighteenth century lit professors happy by talking about Jonathan Swift, and teaching me something, and spoke about how George Orwell addressed the question, and her responses to his four reasons.

Zadie Smith small

She advocated for the way a novel can become “an intimate encounter with truth in a world that frequently only sees us as consumers.” She spoke of how while writing may look like freedom to those looking in, it rarely feels like that when she’s in the process, because she feels beholden to the reality of her characters, though she welcomes “the chance to get out of my corner. I can be anyone in fiction.” She likes to think of writing as more of craft than an art, likening it to making a chair that some may like, and some not, and she reduces her anxiety by thinking about writing sentence by sentence. Making one sentence as good as she can make it, “and then maybe the next one, too.”

Responses

  1. I loved WHITE TEETH, and I like her one-sentence approach to writing. I’m making slow progress on my project, but would like to think I’m getting each sentence right before moving on.

    Thank you for sharing, Jeannine.

    • I really liked ON BEAUTY, with its echoes of HOWARDS END which I read a million years ago. I want to read NW next! Thanks for stopping by, Tracy!

  2. How wonderful that she looked at the historical context for the question! Wish I’d been there with you to hear her speak.

    • Oh, yes, you would have been happy, too, to start in the 18th century. It really made me curious to know more about Jonathan Swift, who seems like quite the guy. Shame on me for missing so much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

