Posted by: jeannineatkins | September 13, 2012

En Plein Air

My friend Ellen Farley, who teaches high school art and runs The Art Studio, recently made time to enter a plein air competition at Nash Gallery in Easthampton.  The rules went something like this: the scene had to be painted outside within the city borders, and paper or canvas had to be stamped at the gallery five days before the showing, so no one could work ahead. Peter and I went to the show, which had many wonderful pictures of gardens, fields, houses, and roads. I liked Ellen’s the best.

This painting didn’t win a prize, but Ellen said it didn’t matter. She told me she parked by the road, asked a farmer if she was still in Easthampton, and when he told her yes, and saw her easel, he offered to lead her on his tractor to a spot he thought even prettier. Ellen was grateful to have spent two afternoons standing among Monarch butterflies looking at fields and a mountain she’s often seen from many different points.

I’m not as zen as I’d like to be. I can’t help wishing Ellen had won if not grand prize, at least one of the gift certificates offered by local businesses. I want my writing to get published and I want my candidate to get a second term in office. But I admire the way the Impressionists held to a credo of “no juries, no awards” to favor artistic freedom, and I try hard to remember that afternoons like Ellen’s painting in the field are the prize. As I start teaching writing again, that’s what I want my students to know, too. Sitting around the table, writing in ten minute spurts, daring to read something fresh aloud: our lives are pretty good.

Responses

  1. I love this. You “painted” such a great picture of Ellen creating this landscape. The act of creation is the true prize. That’s how I feel now about writing. All my creative life it was about achieving recognition for creative work (which once was music). And keeping blogs does make me succumb more often than not to scrutinizing my stats (i.e. why isn’t anybody reading the great thing I just wrote?) :-) But in the end as much as I’d love the recognition, just the freedom to create and the growth I’m experiencing through the creation is the best prize of all. And it’s wonderful when the benefits spill over to others. In my case (and in many others, I’m sure), I just love to share.

    And I’m so glad you share things like this!

    • Thanks, Susan! All of us who grew up getting grades and approval or not of parents (one of your favorite historical persons comes to mind, hoping to get her father’s notice) can find it takes some practice to create, and be thankful for its moments, regardless of whether we achieve the different kinds of music we might hear inside. But it’s worth trying!

  2. Ditto to what Susan said. Thanks for the lovely uplifting post. Ellen’s painting is so beautiful :).

  3. I love Ellen’s painting, too. And I very much take the painters’ credo to heart. Thank you!!!!

    • Thank you, Sarah. I must try not to rely on your consistent and lovely cheers.

  4. Thank you, Jeannine, for capturing Ellen’s spirit!

    • Thanks, Joan! It’s always fun to see Ellen, and her loyal fans.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

