Posted by: jeannineatkins | April 25, 2010

Bluets and Dogs

So bluets don’t grow in the South? I had to post a close up for those deprived, if we can use that word for people who enjoy magnolias and wisteria more often than we do here. I always liked seeing the odd spots where these dainty appearing flowers would tough it out: in the muck and shade of forests, on otherwise mannerly lawns, between crevices of rocks. And of course as a child I knew they were fairy favorites. You have to look very hard to see the blue tones.

I set off with the dogs to take a photo on the hill by our house, but I hadn’t taken the big dog for his real walk yet. So he sat by the spot where I wanted to take a picture to make sure I wouldn’t forget.

Then because my daughter might ask, I plopped down the little dog.

And here are the pictures I set out to take: tiny bluets seen up close.

Responses

  1. Nope, I’ve never seen bluets before! Tons of lovely wisteria out now, though…

  2. The closeup showing the yellow centre is a nice surprise. I’m sure there’s a writing metaphor about taking the time to examine things closely to find details…

  3. Oh, fairy flowers! I like them even more. Love the dogs — what are their names? Thanks for taking the photos :)!

  4. Big-time magic in tiny packages
    Thank you for the Sunday morning magic. :)
    I suspect fairy flowers grow everywhere…they just take on different shapes and colors, according to the region(s) where they grow. And though we might know them by different names, they give all of us a reason to zoom the lens in tight. That’s where real magic resides, no?

  5. Jen, that’s a great photo of Louis in the flowers. I’m amazed you were able to get the little whirling dervish to stand still long enough for this portrait! — PL

  6. Wisteria is like magic to me. The perfect color and all loopiness, though I hear it’s hard to manage: all that wildness can ask for clever shears?

  7. I love those writing metaphors! And how something with blue in its name really has very little blue: sometimes you need to look past the word.

  8. Our daughter named both dogs. Parker, the big one, in honor of Peter Parker, back from the days when Tobey Maguire played Spiderman. And Louis is pronounced in the French way in honor of the creator of expensive handbags.

  9. Re: Big-time magic in tiny packages
    Yay for twirling Tinkerbelle and fairy flowers for her to hide among and,yes, looking close. Enjoy your Sunday, Melodye!

  10. Well we did play chase-me for a while first…

  11. Beautiful. I don’t think I’ve ever seen them before. They just look like Spring.

  12. It’s not just the color and the loopiness that’s wonderful about wisteria–it has the loveliest, spiky “purple” smell you can imagine! Someday when I own my own house I’m going to plant the stuff everywhere! For now I’ll just enjoy my neighbors’.

  13. They are hardy little things who keep coming up beyond spring, and sweep me back to childhood. Impossible not to love.

  14. Ah, wisteria. I love seeing the grape-like flowers draping over trees beside the road. Just don’t plant the stuff in my yard! It’s almost as bad as kudzu. Just takes over. Almost impossible to eradicate. I love it by the road, just keep it away from my trees!
    Jeannine, I’ve been reading” How High Can We Climb?” It’s a wonderful book. I can tell what a huge amount of work this must have been, but the results are delightful. As I read through the chapter on Josephine Peary, I enjoyed noticing the small details you included that captured the personalities of these unusual, “slightly mad” folks.
    I have a question about dialog. I’m getting ready to tackle my next project and there is no recorded dialog, no letters, no record of what my main characters said. Did you run into that with any of your explorers? I know with the Pearys there were books written by Josephine and plenty of other records from which to draw dialog. Was that the case with all of your choices or did you have to invent dialog?
    The nonfiction part of my brain is wrestling with inventing dialog, but the story part says I need it.
    Doraine

  15. Doraine,
    Oh, wisteria. The joys and pitfalls!
    And thank you so much for reading How High Can we Climb? I’m one of those who is for inventing dialog when, as you say, the story part of your brain says it’s needed, but not everyone agrees with this approach. If you’d like to discuss this at more length, why don’t you email me at jeanatkins at aol dot com?

  16. Bluets certainly grow as far south as southern Pennsylvania. Maybe they do grow even farther south, but people don’t notice them because they’re so small?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

