Posted by: jeannineatkins | April 6, 2010

Girls and Nature

Dawn Publications posted an interview with me here
http://www.dawnpub.com/conversations-with-the-artist-jeannine-atkins/ about how I came to write Girls Who Looked Under Rocks: The Lives of Six Pioneering Naturalists. Please click on the link if you want to learn more about my writing and researching process and the book that features women including Maria Sibylla Merian, an artist and scientist who in 1699 sailed from Europe to South America to paint insects in their environment. A picture book about her called Summer Birds by Margarita Engle and illustrated by Julie Paschkis comes out this month. I can’t wait! 


Win Free Books!

Okay, maybe that’s redundant. Can you win books that aren’t free? Editor-type friends, I always accept revision advice, but be gentle. Within the last 24 hours I slept maybe three hours after taking the red-eye from California; a trip that began with me having no assigned seat and the man behind the desk telling me the plane was overbooked, and it’s spring break, Passover, and Easter, and there are no other flights that night. As I started to freak, the other attendant asked to see my ticket, then said, “You’ll get a seat. You don’t have to nag.” Good re the seat, but couldn’t she have left off the second sentence? Then today there were three hours of insurance paperwork I had to tend to, and then… well, my point is, I’m okay with being redundant for the moment.

No, my point is BOOK GIVEAWAYS!

To celebrate the 40th anniversary of Earth Day, Dawn Publications is giving away books to educators and their students, including home schoolers. To enter, the teacher, parent, or even camp counselor should send a story or synopsis on how they’ve used Dawn books to inspire and educate children about nature. Click here to learn more: http://www.dawnpub.com/earth-day-contest/

And until April 14, you can comment on Joyce Moyer Hostetter’s blog moyer-girl to win a copy of Borrowed Names or Anne Hutchinson’s Way.

Responses

  1. so glad to learn of the book (Girls who looked under rocks)… and Dawn Publications. My niece and nephew are young scientists…
    hmm, having trouble picturing you as a “nag” at the ticket counter, I’m sure that person was having a Terrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.
    (I’m sure you were, too!)

  2. Thanks for your sweet comment, Jen: I feel better already! And yay for young scientist niece and nephew!

  3. I can’t wait for SUMMER BIRDS, either!

  4. I started to post about your book giveaway, then realized it happened within 24 hours or so and was over. You move fast, Loree!
    Here’s a great interview about Summer Birds:

    http://bookstogether.squarespace.com/blog/2010/3/29/summer-birds-maria-merian-and-margarita-engle.html

  5. The fast thing may have been a mistake. I’ve done longer ones, though, and found that I got sick of hearing myself post reminders! Anyway, I’m giving away some more pb copies of TT through GoodReads in the coming weeks; I’ll be posting details soon.
    Thanks for the link!
    Loree

  6. “nag”? yeah, right. crazy of you to think a seat came with that ticket purchase.

  7. Thank you, Tracy. The guy acted like I’d entered a high priced lottery.

  8. You have some of the best ideas for books. I love reading about strong women doing things that some people might think are not “girl’s work.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

